Running Long

Ran uphill aloneWhen I decided I was going to jog 3/4 days a week, I knew that I couldn’t force myself to do this. I had to like it. I have been a victim of ‘gymming’ since I was 20 years old. Over the past ten years, I went to different gyms for a 6 month or 1 year period and the end result was often an increase in bulk and appetite. Long gaps made it tougher to shed the flab. Lots of advice offline and online scrambled what I wanted to achieve.

Today, I have a good idea of what I want. Be Fit. I know that when as my daughter grows, I want to be fit enough to play with her, join her in a sport or adventure instead of panting and stopping to take a break in between.

Instead of spending money on gym memberships, home gym equipment, nutrition courses, equipments for racquet sports, I wanted to not spend money on anything except use my sports shoes!

Running fits that perfectly.

I started to jog for long distances for the past 6 weeks. I started increasing the distance gradually over the period, from 2 kms to 10 kms. The first week was tough and I took a lot of breaks where I just walked. Now, I am able to cover 10 kms comfortably. But it’s not about the distance or time when I am on the go.

The open space is challenging and I think freely or go free of thought. I experience hope or dismay to which I increase or decrease my pace. It is my time which I look forward to it. Instead of trying to burn out everyday for a short term goal,  I made a goal that I have to participate in a marathon when it happens in the city, which should be sometime in Feb 2011.

